Workout. You’ll feel better.

In case you hadn’t noticed, I’m a bit of a fitness nut. After completing a Tough Mudder race in December, I had dropped over 10 pounds due to my cardio training. I’m now on a “bulk up” phase and decided to go with a different workout from what I’ve used for the past several years. After talking to a professional bodybuilder who runs my gym, he encouraged me to really cut down on reps and add more sets. I’m using a modified “Stronglifts 5×5” program with some light cardio on the side.

“Stronglifts 5×5” consists of 3 workouts a week rotating back and forth between 2 simple workouts. The key is intensity, with a goal of adding 5 lbs to each exercise every week.

 

StrongLifts 5×5 Workout A StrongLifts 5×5 Workout B
Squat 5×5 Squat 5×5
Bench Press 5×5 Overhead Press 5×5
Barbell Rows 5×5 Deadlift 1×5

 

My first thought when reading this was “no way these exercises hit the whole body…where’s the arm isolation? abs? etc.” After a week of using it, I can attest that these actually do hit the whole body. I’m interested to see the results after a few months.

This picture was taken at 171 lbs. My current weight is 177. Goal weight of 190. Current max bench = 265.

Here we go.

One thought on “Workout. You’ll feel better.

  1. It almost sounds like supersets; the action of using two opposing muscle sets close together that effects the body as a whole.

    I miss the gym. You’re right, working out does make you feel better. Though usually I’m about the cardio rather than the muscle mass. I don’t think it would suit me…

Leave a Reply

