Happy Birthday, Marine Corps

photo (1)

On 10 November, 1775, in Tun Tavern, the United States Marine Corps was born (fitting that it should find its start in a bar!) I had the privilege to serve for 8 years, and I’ll always be thankful for that chapter of my life.
In honor of the Marine Corps’ birthday, I’ve compiled a list of some of my favorite quotes.

The Marines I have seen around the world have the cleanest bodies, the filthiest minds, the highest morale, and the lowest morals of any group of animals I have ever seen. Thank God for the United States Marine Corps! 
Eleanor Roosevelt, First Lady of the United States, 1945

Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. But the Marines don’t have that problem. 
Ronald Reagan, President of the United States; 1985

We have two companies of Marines running rampant all over the northern half of this island, and three Army regiments pinned down in the southwestern corner, doing nothing. What the hell is going on? 
Gen. John W. Vessey Jr., USA, Chairman of the the Joint Chiefs of Staff
during the assault on Grenada, 1983

I come in peace, I didn’t bring artillery.  But I am pleading with you with tears in my eyes:  If you fuck with me, I’ll kill you all.
Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders

There are only two kinds of people that understand Marines: Marines and the enemy. Everyone else has a second-hand opinion.
Gen. William Thornson, U.S. Army

They told (us) to open up the Embassy, or “we’ll blow you away.” And then they looked up and saw the Marines on the roof with these really big guns, and they said in Somali, “Igaralli ahow,” which means “Excuse me, I didn’t mean it, my mistake”. 
Karen Aquilar, in the U.S. Embassy; Mogadishu, Somalia, 1991

Come on, you sons of bitches! Do you want to live forever? 
GySgt. Daniel J. “Dan” Daly, USMC
near Lucy-`le-Bocage as he led the 5th Marines’ attack into Belleau Wood, 6 June 1918

Do not attack the First Marine Division. Leave the yellowlegs alone. Strike the American Army. 
Orders given to Communist troops in the Korean War;
shortly afterward, the Marines were ordered not to wear their khaki leggings.

Marines I see as two breeds, Rottweilers or Dobermans, because Marines come in two varieties, big and mean, or skinny and mean. They’re aggressive on the attack and tenacious on defense. They’ve got really short hair and they always go for the throat. 
RAdm. “Jay” R. Stark, USN; 10 November 1995

Retreat? Hell, we just got here! 
Capt. Lloyd W. Williams, USMC 1918

Leave a Reply

