ReMoved. Part Two.

Sometimes someone hurts you so bad it stops hurting at all, until something makes you feel again, and then it all comes back—every word, every hurt, every moment.”

From the opening sentence of “ReMoved,” I knew I was about to experience something special. The beautiful cinematography coupled with an aching score wrapped me up so completely, I found myself having to go back to pick up words that I’d missed, and with the visceral punch these words were packing, I couldn’t bear to miss one.

removed 2a

Abby White plays the foster child around which the story circles, and she carries the story gracefully with a nuanced performance that seems effortless in the way that only a handful of child actors understand. We watch as she’s rescued from her abusive home and handed off to strangers where she pleads “how could you ever understand where I come from?”

She misses her family, but on some level she understands the danger from which she was rescued. “I know I’m helpless, dependent, desperate, but what happens when those you need the most threaten your very existence?”

removed 3a

Several months ago, I watched my own brother and sister-in-law bring two fosters girls into their home. They shared with me the challenges and the joys of loving on these two little sisters. I’m not a parent, and so I don’t understand the dichotomy of taking care of your own flesh-and-blood children along with someone else’s. I would never try to say I could empathize with the foster parents out there, but I can say I saw my brother’s family wrap up those girls with so much love that it floored me. The caring foster parents out there are the heroes, taking little ones into their arms and loving them, telling them that their broken stories are not their fault, that their past does not define them, they are are not “unseen, unheard, unwanted.”

I’ve backed the Kickstarter campaign for “ReMoved. Part Two.” You can find the campaign page here. There are only a couple short days left to contribute. Even if you can’t donate financially, share the story. This is a message that transcends film-making.

 

Leave a Reply

