Come Drive This Road with Me

driving 2

Sun-kissed west, dying, gossamer
Diamonds on my window screen
Come with me, darling, oh come on
Come drive this road with me.

Can’t believe you’re with me here
And we’re just runnin’ free
Breathe with me, darling, oh come on
Come drive this road with me.

Knew when I saw you. Lost, undone
No more solo life for me
No choice, darling, oh come on
Come drive this road with me.

The games we played, hunter and prey
First kiss under an old ash tree
Another, darling, oh come on
Come drive this road with me.

Crazy love, I wrapped you up
Nights tossed between the sheets
I’ll take you, darling, oh come on
Come drive this road with me.

They told us no, they tried to stop what
Fate had meant to be
Forget them, darling, oh come on
Come drive this road with me.

Close your eyes, I’ll watch the road
I’ll watch the clock turn three
I’ll watch you, darling, oh come on
Come drive this road with me.

Dark night detours, thunderstorms
It’s only just debris
I’ll fight, darling, oh come on
Come drive this road with me.

Morning’s coming, trust me dear,
Lightning splits the ebony sea
Just hold my hand, darling, come on
And drive this road with me.
– ijs

5 thoughts on “Come Drive This Road with Me

Leave a Reply

