But I Won’t Miss You Today

lonely nature

Order coffee just for one
Sit in the shade
Headphones in
(playing nothing)
But I won’t miss you today.

Run dappled trails
My shadow the only partner
Pacing me silently
But I won’t miss you today.

Ride the train to work
Smirk at that inside joke
Pull out my phone and
Go to text
No one
But I won’t miss you today.

See flowers delivered
(wrong color)
Girls going crazy
Guys hiding and ordering their own
But I won’t miss you today.

Eat lunch on the bench
Where our shoulders touched
(hands brushed)
And we shared glances
Without looking
But I won’t miss you today

Wander your favorite store
Find the perfect gift
(put it back)
(really, it was perfect)
But I won’t miss you today.

Catch that song
We first danced to
(held you)
Electric spinning elegance
(closer)
But I won’t miss you today.

Smell the perfume
(yours)
Drove me wild
Head tucked under my chin
(someone else)
But I won’t miss you today.

Drive the backroads
Solace in vastness
Open spaces between my fingers
On the gearshift
But I won’t miss you today.

Watch the evening star
Leap from the pregnant horizon
Lying on the cooling hood
(we used to keep warm)
But I won’t miss you today.

Embrace sleep’s emptiness
In pristine sheets
I fall
(embracing nothing)
But I won’t miss you today.
-ijs

*Thanks to Jen for the music recommendation I used while I was working out where to go with this piece.

Leave a Reply

