Scars

Embrace your scars
Never-dying reminders
That define you
Make you
Beautiful.
-ijs

9839

*I wrote this poem a few years ago when I was in the process of writing my book. It kept coming back to me as I walked through the journey of telling my story. Too many people think they’ve got to hide their scars.
Screw that. Your story is your story; it’s what makes you who you are; it’s what has brought you to where you are today.
Embrace your journey.

The photo was a bts shot that my photographer snapped on her phone when we were shooting the book cover.

3 thoughts on “Scars

  1. Nice, I enjoyed the poem. How’s the book coming along? Published? I’ve followed you. I’m a writer myself, and I’d love it if you took some time to check out my blog. Thanks anyway and keep writing 🙂

    • Thanks for taking the time to read and respond. I released my book last year on Amazon. You can find the link on the “My Book” page of my site.

  2. As you can see from my name, I’m married, but it’s not a good marriage…lots of scars that I have been ashamed of, from my husbands affair 4 yrs ago….but lately I’ve been sharing “my story” to a few close friends, in spite of my husband wanting me to stay silent… it’s my story to tell, my battle to reclaim a part of me that was lost for awhile.
    I’m going to order your book, because while I am still “married” I do feel as though I was tossed aside 4 yrs ago…that I was left all alone to sort out the pain, bewilderment, betrayal…I couldn’t go to my pastor or church staff, I knew they would use the ol’ “forgive and forget” line on me…tell me to be more submissive, etc…and I knew divorce would be frowned upon, because my husbands affair was emotional, not sexual, so not a “real” affair…even though my pain and feelings of betrayal were real, and my anger at God was just as real!

    Now I’m off to buy your book, and start reading! Thanks Isaiah!

Leave a Reply

