Hearse

hearse 1

Dreams I dreamed
Wish I could leave
Far behind
And move beyond
The rusted gates that beckon
(beckon)
Swing and scream
Flailing open
But in between
All you mean
Is all you meant
To me
I see
And so I’ll push reverse
Step in the hearse
And cry myself to sleep.
-ijs

*author’s note: Writing this poem was a weird experience: the words were coming before I even saw the meaning. It took me longer to work out what I’d just put down than it did to write, but the interpretationĀ that took shape for me was beautiful.
I’m sure I’ll revisit this poem at some point and work to flesh it out more, but for the moment, I’ll let it rest.
In peace.

Leave a Reply

